• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • aznboi87

Aug 29, 2023
    rockville, md
    Hi All,
    I've never done outdoor haunting before only ranges. I'd like to join some one in the sports of outdoor hunting with firearms.
    I believe that white tail deer antlered with firearms is only 11/25-12/9
    and anterless is 12/2, and 12/8/9
    According to this guidelines for firearms haunting

not less than .40 caliber, no less than 40 grains, minimum 6 inches, and. So I am thinking of using 5.56 with 65 grams is that allows with my AR15?

ken792

Ultimate Member
    Sep 2, 2011
    Fairfax, VA
    The .40 cal minimum is for muzzleloaders and the 6” barrel minimum is for handguns.

Since a .223 AR is neither of those, it falls under the 1200 ft-lb minimum for centerfire rifles. You can use .223 ARs in MD with the appropriate ammo meeting that requirement, but you also need to look up where you are allowed to use centerfires with bottlenecked cartridges.

E.Shell

Ultimate Member
    Feb 5, 2007
    Mid-Merlind
    You will need your Hunter's Education class, which will be helpful in many ways.

You will then need a hunting license with appropriate stamps.

Your last sentence mixes requirements given for several classes of hunting implements:

Muzzleloaders require .40 caliber minimum and 40 grains of powder.

Handguns must have a minimum barrel length of 6"

Modern rifles require a minimum muzzle energy of 1,200 FtLb of energy.

The 65 grain load in the .223 may or may not meet minimum energy requirements, depending on the exact load and your barrel length. As posted above, make sure the area you are in allows the cartridge you wish to use.

As a beginning hunter, I would strongly recommend you use a larger cartridge. The bigger cartridges will provide more margin of error and will also provide a better blood trail to use when following up your animal.