• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JMoon

Feb 22, 2014
    Hi everyone,

I am new to the world of shooting and was hoping I could get some advice on how to go about building my own AR 15. I was told today by a local FFL that Maryland no longer allows transfers into state of AR15 lower receiver (the gun part). My father has a VA drivers license and a house there as well, is it okay if he purchases the lower receiver through a VA FFL as a VA resident and then gives it to me?

Also, is it still legal to purchase all the other components (LPK, completed upper) and have them shipped to my house in MD?

THANKS!!!

TxAggie

Ultimate Member
    Feb 25, 2012
    Anne Arundel County, MD
    If I understand the import regulations correctly, you may only bring in banned firearms, including lowers, if you owned them prior to 1 OCT 2013.

All of the other parts are fully legal to purchase as they are not regulated.

JMoon

Feb 22, 2014
    so does that mean the rifle would only be legal if it stayed in VA?

what a bummer

hodgepodge

Senior Member (Gold)
    Sep 3, 2009
    Arnold, MD
    Assuming you are a Maryland resident, you may NOT receive an AR-15 or other banned gun. You may NOT acquire the lower from your father.

You can buy the other required components, if you want to look at them and give them to your father.

You MAY buy a Colt HBAR-configured rifle. No problems.

Solution: Vote out the idiots.

dogbone

Ultimate Member
    Nov 14, 2011
    GTT - Gone To Texas
    so does that mean the rifle would only be legal if it stayed in VA?

what a bummer

Look on the bright side, you now have a good reason to visit your dad more often.

You can still legally purchase an HBAR here in the PRM. Not as much fun a building your own but you aren't completely shut out (yet.)

JMoon

Feb 22, 2014