• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dehos

Mar 23, 2024
    Glen Burnie
    I have been putting some thought into getting my first compact potentially for carry in the future once I take the class. A little background I only own 1 handgun and I am fairly new to gun ownership.

I plan on going to the range later this week to rent a few and I wanted some suggestions about compact guns that are highly recommended and newbie traps to stat away from.
    I plan on trying the hellcat pro, Glock 48 and mp 2.0 compact as they felt good in my hand. (I have smaller hands).

The Hellcat pro has the U notch sights so I am interested in seeing if I can get the hang of that as well.

XCheckR

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 20, 2013
    HdG
    Good approach trying them. Some seem snappy. Two others you might consider are SW CSX and Walther CCP

Bountied

Ultimate Member
    Apr 6, 2012
    Pasadena
    G19, P320C, those are the only 2 I have and I like both. I have a G43 as well and a .38 snubby that I call sub compacts. All would carry well.

DocPeanut

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Sep 20, 2010
    If you’re willing to drive up to Owings Mills to guntry, I have a hellcat original, Glock 43x and a 365x you’re welcome to try out

Bountied

Ultimate Member
    Apr 6, 2012
    Pasadena
    If you go to the range to rent a gun go with a friend or bring your own gun. They may not want to rent to a single person that does not have their own gun. It can be a red flag but maybe not.

dehos

Mar 23, 2024
    Glen Burnie
    If you go to the range to rent a gun go with a friend or bring your own gun. They may not want to rent to a single person that does not have their own gun. It can be a red flag but maybe not.