• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BPH102687

I like things and stuff, mostly stuff.
    Apr 11, 2021
    Ellicott City
    Looking to get a decent one and start printing some accessories for my firearms, among other things, bc I'm tired of spending money on that ish. Seeking suggestions for middle of the road quality printer, necessary program/accessories, etc.

Blackstar65

Ultimate Member
    Jun 27, 2010
    Buy a Bamboo p1p or a Creality K1 or a Prusa. Printing is not as simple as you make it sound in your post. Some printers require a lot of fine-tuning. That doesn't include fine-tuning your slicer settings either. Good luck.

K3LAG

3D printing becomes a hobby unto itself. It is not plug and play. Regardless of what printer you buy, you will have to do a lot of learning and tuning to have good success. I've been doing it for over 10 years and I'm still learning stuff that improves my prints.

If you think you are going to download some design files and just print them and go along your merry way you will be disappointed.

I personally try to avoid Chinese printers so the Bambu and Creality printers would be out for me even though they are perfectly good printers. I do own a Creality Ender 3 but I got it for $99 so I broke my own rule ;-). The Prusa is about the best non-Chinese printer you can get and comes with pretty well tuned profiles. It's probably about as close to plug and play you can get.

I build my own printers these days but I'm building high performance, larger printers that definitely would not be suitable for a beginner.

euler357

Industry Partner
    MDS Supporter
    Apr 6, 2011
    Odenton, Marylandistan
    I went through a couple before I got the a Prusa MK3S. Ended up doing quite a few mods too. It's dialed in now and prints ABS great.

Here is my website of my mods

I publish most of my designs here

K3LAG