• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • tapeman1

Ultimate Member
    Aug 31, 2012
    Severna Park, MD
    In draw weight anyway.

So, when I bought my new Mission compound last weekend the guy at the shop set it up for a 40 pound draw weight since I'm new to archery. He figured that would be a good place for me to start building up my archery muscles. No problem.

But when I was shooting it last weekend I was thinking it was a little too easy to pull 40. So I figured I'd crank it up to 50 today to see how that felt. It was harder, but still not difficult. So, I figured I'd see what 60 felt like.

So I crank it up, nock an arrow and draw...nope. OK, that was harder than expected, but now I'm ready for it. Draw...nope. D@MN! that is freakin impossible.

So, I cranked it back down to about 53 and draw that with a little effort, but not too much. I think I'll stay there for a while. :D

Beware of Dog
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 16, 2013
    AA Co
    It takes a while to build up the muscles that are used to draw a bow and with time, it will get easier. We always start new archers out at a lower dw and then have them crank it up after a couple weeks of shooting. A turn on the limb bolts, shoot for a couple more weeks and if you think you can handle more, give it another full turn (about 3lbs/turn on average).

I shot a 70lb bow for over 30 years, but now, 60 is plenty... LOL

Take your time, practice as much as you can and you will find it much easier over time... ;) The worst thing you can do is overbow yourself... remember if you are hunting, that you have to be able to draw smoothly, quietly and with as little movement as possible (can't sky the bow, really need to be able to draw it straight back and settle into shooting position as smoothly as possible) and on a cold, freezing morning, that is a lot tougher than one would think..

rouchna

Defund the ATF
    MDS Supporter
    Nov 25, 2009