• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • scouse

Mar 6, 2013
    Havana on the Severn
    I'm new to competitive shooting and would like to buy a spotting scope good for target reading at, say, up to 500 yards. I'm doing research on them now but find that good quality appears to be running well over $1k and more like $2k. Will someone please advise on what I should look for and if I can find anything far less than this price? Thanks for any help you can give.

dogbone

Ultimate Member
    Nov 14, 2011
    GTT - Gone To Texas
    As an amateur photographer, I am of the opinion that money spent on good glass is never wasted. There is also the adage that when you suffer the pain of buying the best you only cry once, rather than many times as you go through a long stream of buying gradual improvements in quality.

With that said, as a fellow recent entrant in competitive shooting my own wallet was screaming with all the new toys needed. I gave this a try and while I may eventually take the plunge on better glass, it has worked well enough to let me get out and play:

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/76...ith-tripod-and-hard-case-rubber-armored-black

Threeband

The M1 Does My Talking
    Dec 30, 2006
    Carroll County

The Konus is the best for the money. You can spend a lot more for only a slight improvement.

Don't expect to distinguish bullet holes at 500 yards, though. Even at 200 yards there's enough uncertainty to be frustrating much of the time. Light conditions make a big difference. Surprisingly, there's little difference between .30 and .22 holes. Use a Shoot-n-See type center and you'll be good at 200.

Nanook

F-notso-NG-anymore