• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 1911turbo

Sep 4, 2016
    Hello all,

I'm a Mass resident and I'm planning a roadtrip that will take me through MD. Although I would be covered by FOPA, I'm still curious if I can legally possess a handgun in MD if I do make some stops. I realize that I won't be able to carry but I'm trying to figure out if I can legally have it locked up in the trunk while stopping to sightsee in MD. It is my understanding that the answer is "no" and that I shouldn't stop in MD and just rely on FOPA - correct?

Thanks!

jawn

YOU TROLLIN!
    Feb 10, 2011
    INTARWEB
    Hello all,

I'm a Mass resident and I'm planning a roadtrip that will take me through MD. Although I would be covered by FOPA, I'm still curious if I can legally possess a handgun in MD if I do make some stops. I realize that I won't be able to carry but I'm trying to figure out if I can legally have it locked up in the trunk while stopping to sightsee in MD. It is my understanding that the answer is "no" and that I shouldn't stop in MD and just rely on FOPA - correct?

Thanks!

Basically, you should stick to FOPA. These are the permitted instances for handgun transport in MD:

(3) the carrying of a handgun on the person or in a vehicle while the person is transporting the handgun to or
    from the place of legal purchase or sale, or to or from a bona fide repair shop, or between bona fide
    residences of the person, or between the bona fide residence and place of business of the person, if the
    business is operated and owned substantially by the person if each handgun is unloaded and carried in an
    enclosed case or an enclosed holster;
    (4) the wearing, carrying, or transporting by a person of a handgun used in connection with an organized