• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hornet

Feb 20, 2012
    Severn, Maryland
    Hi im new to deer hunting here in MD (i had go hunting for taruka deer in Peru but Geography totally different) and i am looking for some advice.

first off i have a .243, .270 and .12ga slug shotgun that i can use, i will get my hunting permit on Sept 9th, and right after the hunting license, and/or stamp if necessary.

i need advice on hunting tips, and if possible good locations or if there is any group that plans on hunting and wont mind an spectator or another gun..?

i have read in other post about wearing as much orange as possible and i am in the process of getting an orange vest and cap, over my realtree ap clothes i already had...

i am having troubles with were to go! lol i guess thats the first thing i should of figure out before thinking of going hunting..

thanks in advance.

Renz

travismxi

Nov 14, 2010
    100# of corn is the difference in a good and bad spot.

if you go to state land just keep walking further and further to get away from everyone

hornet

Feb 20, 2012
    Severn, Maryland
    thanks i am still researching on state land and all the supose to be good public lands but definitely i want to make a good hunting trip if i have to walk one whole day in the woods to have a good hunt then i will do if i have to camp or something is fine i just bought a decent outdoors gps (magellan explorist 510) just as a backup from my phone, i am trying to get all the stuff i can as i read in the forum about hunting, compass, gps, first aid kit, good scent block clothes, orange vest, good boots, and of course as much as i can really afford, so far my pockets are almost empty as the good clothes are very expensive.... but still saving to have all gear before hunting season starts.