• Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jackalope

I'm a novice when it comes to the world of guns so I hope some of you may be able to offer a hand. My father left to me an old German Luger thats in pretty rough shape and I'm wondering weather or not its even worth it to bring it back to its former glory. All I can remember about the guns history is he said he found it while medal detecting in lake Montebello when it was drained. It has no mag. and very little bluing left at all, its mostly bare metal. Also a fair amount of pitting right where the date of manufacture would be. He had always talked about re-doing it but he got sick with caner and it took him before he could do anything with it, so now that the wife is getting more ok with the thought of owning a gun I decided it was time to take it out of the box I had it packed away in and dust it off. Everything still works and seems in tact but I'm far from a professional such as many of you. So here's a few pics let me know what I should do, please bare in mind I would like to restore it but I don't want to have to sell a kidney in order to do it.

The only #'s I an find on it are 461 and on the top it has Sc/42, also has what looks like either a G1 or 61 on it several more places.

This is what I'm dealing with.

23951084021_large.jpg

23951084022_large.jpg

BlackBart

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Mar 20, 2007
    Conewago, York Co. Pa.
    Pretty cool, it's a good candidate for electrolysis rust removal. Biggest problem to me might be where it was found.....why was it ditched??? People with nothing to hide just don't throw P08's in the drink without reason. :sad20:

Jackalope