• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • vc1911

Jan 17, 2010
    OC
    Hypothetical question:

I understand it's currently illegal to have a loaded long gun in your vehicle. But, if a current CCW were to have/keep a an AR pistol in the vehicle loaded would said person be in violation?

Is this idea entirely playing with fire?

v

HordesOfKailas

Still learning
    Feb 7, 2016
    Utah
    Hypothetical question:

I understand it's currently illegal to have a loaded long gun in your vehicle. But, if a current CCW were to have/keep a an AR pistol in the vehicle loaded would said person be in violation?

Is this idea [is] playing with fire?

v

Fixed.

Parallax-Free

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Apr 12, 2017
    Balt. Co MD
    Then I would assume it was alright. But I'm no lawyer. I'd say unless there is a very clear statute defining AR'S unfit for CCW use, a pistol is a pistol.

Also, it was a rhetorical question. But it solidifies my point.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

knastera

Just another shooter
    May 6, 2013
    Baltimore County

Agreed. The idea of wear and carry (Maryland doesn't call it CCW) is that you wear and carry it. I guess that you could try to make a case that keeping an AR pistol in a briefcase or backpack is wearing and carrying, but I wouldn't stake my freedom on that.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Parallax-Free

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Apr 12, 2017
    Balt. Co MD
    Agreed. The idea of wear and carry (Maryland doesn't call it CCW) is that you wear and carry it. I guess that you could try to make a case that keeping an AR pistol in a briefcase or backpack is wearing and carrying, but I wouldn't stake my freedom on that.

I would think that if you were pulled over, one could not guarantee a LEO would recognize it as a pistol.