• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ras_oscar

Ultimate Member
    Apr 23, 2014
    I am pondering purchasing a new Progressive reloading press. I have been using a Lee classic turret press for several years and feel very comfortable with its operation. I’d like to stay with Lee for that reason. I’d also like to reuse as many of my present components as possible. Below is my reasoning for the press I have tentatively selected. I’d like to community to review my reasoning and comment if I have missed any important considerations for my needs.

Presently I use a Lee classic turret press fitted with a lee autodrum powder dispenser and the old style Lee primer feeder. I use it to reload 9mm, 45 ACP, 44 Mag Win 308 and 30-06.
    I have gotten to the point where my QC checks are every 10 rounds and the loading session I completed last weekend ( 400 9mm and 400 45ACP) did not indicate any adjustments to the press were required. I believe I have developed sufficient attention to detail to safely move up to a progressive press.

Pro 1000
    This press only allows use of 3 dies at a time. Using a FCD is important to me because I store my ammo loose in an ammo can. Need to reduce the likelihood of bullet setback. Also, the dies need to be manually set up each time dies are changed. I like the ability to plug in a turret with a new set of dies.

Breech Lock
    The dies need to be manually set up each time dies are changed. I like the ability to plug in a turret with a new set of dies. Also, the primers need to be manually inserted onto the seating arm (same as my turret press) I assume this press could be fitted with an automatic bullet and case feeders.

Load master