• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Harrys

Short Round
    Jul 12, 2014
    SOMD
    So, it looks like I have been doing this right since 1969. I was taught to be in the woods around 9am by a friend growing up and he was a first nation Iroquois. My buds in the (Free State) I say this biting my lip, said I was getting in the woods too late.

Now, according to a 10-year study of 274 bucks, doe, and fawn, in Pennsylvania using GPS collars, most deer spend the early hours after dawn in their cozy beds. They do not move greatly until 10 AM. The peak movement for bucks was between 12 noon and 1PM. The deer then rested in the afternoon and were on the move again from 4PM to dusk.

Most buck have a one square mile "territory" (expanded to 5 during the rut) Rain had little effects on doe movement while it did restrict the movements of buck somewhat. The study showed that deer move more on a windy day and were unaffected by moon phases.

Conclusion....Sleep in, enjoy breakfast and coffee, and get out and into the woods after the 6AM and 7AM crowd. And to think I would be sitting an hour before shooting time in the DARK....

This being said I have shot most deer around 9AM and 11AM in the morning, but there is some suggestion that deer are being "trained" by hunter movement.

Thoughts?

Pale Ryder

Ultimate Member
    Jan 12, 2009
    Millersville
    Maybe the deer are moving between 9 & 11 because of the late risers driving them. I’m in the group of be in your stand an hour before shooting time.

E.Shell

Ultimate Member
    Feb 5, 2007
    Mid-Merlind
    I too have friends that don't go into the woods early and do just fine.