• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RugerFan

Jul 18, 2013
    Silver Spring
    Hi all-

So I'm pretty new to MDShooters and I live in Silver Spring...

Where do people who live near me generally like to go to shoot? I used to go to On Target but became a fan of the new MSAR because of the 50 yd rifle range (I shoot rifles and pistols, no shotgun yet).

However, I'd love to have access to a 100 yd. + outdoor range. I've been to IWLA in Damascus a few times with some member/friends and am thinking of joining, and I really enjoy shooting there, but when push comes to shove it's about 40 minutes away. I've never been to Berwyn, which is somewhat closer, and I'm curious about what that place is like.

Before you steer me to the range stickies; yes, I've read those, I'm just looking for fresh opinions from where others that live somewhat near me like to go...

Thanks!
    RF

Shazam

Dec 20, 2012
    I'm in Silver Spring outside the Beltway and drive 30-35 minuets to AGC. Outdoors. No wait. Worth the long drive to me.

JBinDC

Ultimate Member
    Aug 29, 2012
    MoCo - Silver Spring
    I'm in the 20910 as well, and typically shoot at On Target. Far? Well yeah, but equidistant to pretty much everything else, no? Is the new MSAR close? Haven't been in ages - since the old ghetto range there. Now that I have a an AR and a Mosin to break in, I may start going there. Just wish they had memberships, as I hate to wait. Lemme know the next time you go. --JB

JoshingYu

Jan 5, 2013
    St. Mary's
    Sometimes I go to myrtle grove, MSAR or down in Southern Maryland, if you know a member there is Sanner's Lake. They have a 100 yd rifle range.

JBinDC

Ultimate Member
    Aug 29, 2012
    MoCo - Silver Spring