• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bensmiata

The Newbie
    Dec 23, 2009
    MD
    I am a rifle newbie. There, I said it. I shoot handguns and it's what I do best. However I did buy and receive today my new M&P15R (5.45x39). Obviously bought it to shoot cheaply and thats what I plan to do. Now I know the ammo is corrosive so what are the best ways to go about cleaning it and what exactly do I need to clean? Keep in mind this is my first AR (Sig 522 was my first rifle) so I'm still fairly clueless beyond basic operation and field stripping.

Thanks!

ST19AG_WGreymon

Ultimate Member
    Feb 16, 2009
    Odenton
    Clean with hot water, ammonia(Windex), Ballistol, people will be along to add more and then do your regular cleaning regimen.

Places to definitely clean using the above:
    Gas tube
    Bolt face/bolt
    Barrel
    Flash hider
    gas block
    Chamber

Bensmiata

The Newbie
    Dec 23, 2009
    MD
    Clean with hot water, ammonia(Windex), Ballistol, people will be along to add more and then do your regular cleaning regimen.

Places to definitely clean using the above:
    Gas tube
    Bolt face/bolt
    Barrel
    Flash hider
    gas block
    Chamber

How do I clean the gas tube and gas block?

DarthZed

Ultimate Member
    Sep 25, 2010
    Howard County
    Ballistol/Water mix at 10/90%. Apply liberally (I hold a finger over the muzzle and practically fill the barrel and gas tube) clean with soaked patches, rinse, then clean with pure balistol, and finish up with a patch of CLP (probably overkill). Ammonia is not necessary. The mineral salts from the primers disolve with simple water (The Ballistol helps with corrosion prevention, especially if you're doing a quick cleaning at the range, but really isn't needed), and the ammonia can damage a chrome lined bore. A quick search will bring up MANY threads on this subject.