• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • LANDFORGOTTEN

Sep 28, 2012
    WA state
    I am new to Maryland and now decided I would like to purchase an AR-15 or similar. I have been trying to make sense of laws and have been to a couple of local gunshops but then found these two websites today showing AR-15 HBAR not allowed to be sold in Maryland.

Links:

http://www.del-ton.com/DTI_16_Carbine_Rifle_p/rfth16-0.htm

http://grabagun.com/colt-s-manufacturing-ar-15-5-56-16-hbar-blk-20rd.html

Are they totally off the reservation or am I messed up in understanding MD laws? I thought rifles were regulated and only assult pistols were banned?

Thanks for your help.

TyFromMD

Ultimate Member
    Mar 31, 2011
    Maryland
    The Del-ton has a 30rnd mag and can't be transferred here due to that.

The grabagun item only says "may" not be available.

Jed195

Ultimate Member
    Oct 19, 2011
    MD.
    If you want an AR from a company and it comes with a 30 round magazine they can't ship it to Maryland because of the magazine capacity. You can try and ask them to leave the 30 rounder out of the deal or to switch it with a 20 rounder. If they don't want to bother with that then screw them and find a gun store in Maryland or go to a gun show and get what you want for a price you're cool with. You can buy a stripped lower from an FFL (gun shop,dealer) and order whatever upper half, stock set-up and any other parts you want and have everything shipped directly to your home address.

ColonelHurtz

A pile of little arms.
    Nov 13, 2008
    Oh, they can ship it to a MD FFL just fine.
    But your MD FFL can't transfer it to you and you can't receive it by law.
    Some vendors will substitute a 20.
    You can always call and ask for that or ask if they'll knock $10 off the price and ship no magazine.