• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JKrew

Jul 2, 2008
    Yesterday I was shooting my 7.62x39 AR and with different brass cased ammo it was doing fine at first. After I ran out of the good ammo I started shooting wolf hollow point ammo, and it was keyholing the targets at 50yds. I've shot many different kinds of ammo including Wolf FMJ and never had this problem. I've heard that bullets can do this at longer ranges if they are not well stabilized, but this was at 50 yds. Would this be a defect in the bullet? What would make it so unstable?

Jimbob2.0

Ultimate Member
    Feb 20, 2008
    JK could you post what kind of upper? No hijack and I want to knwo more about the resolution to your situation, but I am considering a 7.62*39 AR and it is good to conceptualize the situation in your context.

JKrew

Jul 2, 2008
    It is made by Olympic Arms, and has a 16" steel barrel. I've fired thousands of rounds of all different types through it, and have never had a problem like this before.

leroygibbs

Ultimate Member
    Jan 2, 2008
    What was the good stuff you were using? US 7.62x 39, or Euro? Was it only keyholing with the Wolf Hollow Points? Or did it do it with ball as well? Keep in mind, HP is no way as aerodynamic,or efficient as a solid projectile. Sometimes, HP will de-stabilize, but it depends much on your barrel twist and the weight of the round, although, I have never had good luck with HP in 7.62x39 in AK style rifles.

clandestine

AR-15 Savant
    Oct 13, 2008
    Elkton, MD
    It is made by Olympic Arms, and has a 16" steel barrel. I've fired thousands of rounds of all different types through it, and have never had a problem like this before.