• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Slackdaddy

My pronouns: Iva/Bigun
    Jan 1, 2019
    Besides the obvious answer: "2 in each caliber",, trying to make my mind up for a new MD deer gun.

Since I did NOT (edit) get a WY Elk tag, and am not purchasing a bolt gun for out west,,,,,
    Thinking about a 44 mag or 45-70 Henry lever gun.
    Tree stand hunter, most shots are under 80 yards,, but would like to extend out to ~125 yards.

I have been shooting an H&R "compact" 20ga Ultra Slug Hunter for the last 10 years,, no problem with the recoil with 7/8 oz lead slugs at 1600 FPS (muzzle), remeber this is a 22" heavy barreled gun, roughly 7.5 pounds.

I like "Boom-Flop",, not a fan of tracking a perfect shot for 75 yards in the thickets.

For the life of me,, I just can not decide between a 44 mag or 45-70

EDIT - I did NOT get an elk tag

Last edited:

ohen cepel

Ultimate Member
    Feb 2, 2011
    Where they send me.
    For elk I would want the 45-70.

44 is great for east coast but I would want more, to have some comfort room, on an elk. If I didn't read your post right about the elk, then 44 may be the way to go. Cheaper to feed at least, and have more capacity in case you're charged by rabid east coast white tails.

As a lever guy I don't think either (or the 30-30) are bad choices really.

With the new FTX bullets all shoot a bit flatter.

Word of caution that the bores on 44 rifles often are not the same diameter as revolvers so the idea of one round for both doesn't always work out right. IIRC, I had to go to jacketed loads to find one which worked for me in both.

hobiecat590

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 2, 2016