• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SigMatt

Ultimate Member
    Mar 17, 2007
    Shores of the Bay, MD
    All,

I am new to reloading but a pet peeve of mine in the time of scarcity and reaction is finding matching components to start loading. I have five reloading manuals and find myself sitting on a site flipping around to answer the questions of "They have powder X available, what can I load with it?" and "Bullets XXX are available in ###gr, what powders work with them?".

After a few hours of this, I got annoyed.

So I writing an Android app that will contain the powder/bullet combinations gathered across all of the manuals. So if I select a Sierra .308 190gr HPBT, it will tell me what powders work with that round and the page references in the manuals the information is derived from. Or if I select Varget as a powder, it would tell me the calibers I could load. And including a function to mark what calibers I shoot, it would tell me how many different rounds that powder would support.

Please note, this does NOT contain the reloading data! I full on recognize that as a violation of the manufacturer's rights to their information. However, building a bibliographical cross-reference of facts across this different books should not cause problems. Especially since the app will contain the information to source back to the load data assuming you own the manual. If you don't own one or more the manuals, all the app will tell you is the data available indicates a given powder/bullet combo is valid.

I see this as a useful utility for the new reloader, the reloader looking to change or develop a new recipe or someone standing at a gun show (as I was) or a shop wondering "Can I use these bullets or powder?"