• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Fire-4-Effect

Aug 3, 2008
    Frederick, Md
    Been a while since I posted. A bit of background... As a teenager growing up I had been hunting with my dad for several years. He would always tell me that he was going to buy me my own rifle on day. Well... When I turned 14 he suprised me a Winchester model 70 made in 1953. It was 30-06. I have so many good memories of that rifle and the fun with my Dad. My folks live in Florida now and I go down and hunt hog every few years or so.

The rifle has since been sold off. Not by my Dad or anyone else but by me. I was young and stupid and had cars and girls on the mind when I got a bit older and the rifle seemed a good way to fund some more "good times".

Now that I am older and have a career and my kids are all grown up and almost all moved out I have had time to think about it... I wanted to own another one so I took the plunge and bought the below rifle off of gun broker.

I had forgotten just how perfect that rifle was. My new pre-64 was built in 1957 and is in 30-06. It is in excellent shape. I have made a couple trips to the range and I am simply shocked at how accurate the rifle is. More important than accuracy though is just how good it feels. It reminds me of days gone by... It was made at a time when stuff was just made right. It exudes quality and it just looks so damn good.

If you have never fired a pre-64 mdl 70 I highly suggest you give it a try. I know that FN is now making nearly identical new ones in South Carolina. I looked at a few. I do not care what anyone says, the classics are still the best there ever was. They trully are a rifleman's rifle.

Phil

Attachments

• mdl70.JPG
      mdl70.JPG
      23.9 KB · Views: 181

boss66tcode

a bit of an Eddie Haskle
    Sep 8, 2008