• Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • So I'm just about dead-set on buying one very soon, and if only out of curiosity, I was wondering whether anyone has any personal experience with the West German SIG 226 that they'd like to share. Trigger, grip, balance, overall feel, carrying, shooting, and so on.

Experiences with the 228, 225, and newer 226es and 229s are welcome, too. What you like about them, what you dislike, what you think could be improved; those sorts of things.

I'd call this thread proposal more of a discussion than an advice-giving. That said, a bit of my background: I'm fairly new to SIG pistols (of the 220 series), as in I have had very little trigger time with them. They fit me well, though, and they point well. I love DA/SA platforms and run exclusively stock triggers on all my handguns.

So yeah, I think that about covers it. Fire away.

Name Taken

Ultimate Member
    Feb 23, 2010
    Central
    I have a 229 E2 with the SRT trigger.

It's a great handgun. It is "sturdy" to say the least and the parts seem over done. The SRT trigger is very nice once you get used to it. For a house/range gun they are solid. A bit big and heavy for CCW and the E2 grips are very rough on the skin.

Can't really go wrong with them IMHO.

Mark75H

MD Wear&Carry Instructor
    Industry Partner
    MDS Supporter
    Sep 25, 2011
    Outside the Gates
    German 226

The only handgun I've seen passed from hand to hand at a gun range that consistently shot like it was being handled by the same expert marksman.

Taken is probably right about carry ... a little big & heavy.