• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • vladimir_taltos

May 12, 2009
    Finksburg
    Had to get over my embarrassment of asking this, but if you don't know you don't know...

Chokes thread into the barrel, does the barrel need to be threaded? How are the damn things attached?

:confused:

krew08

Lurker.
    Feb 26, 2010
    PA
    I am not an expert on this, but I would say yes, the barrel is threaded to accept the choke tubes.

If you have a barrel that accepts choke tubes (i.e. not a rifled barrel or fixed cylinder bore), you should not fire it with no choke tube installed, in theory, it would damage the threading.

Edit: I could just check by removing the barrel off my Rem 870 tactical but I'm feeling a bit lazy right now. Maybe later. :P

E.Shell

Ultimate Member
    Feb 5, 2007
    Mid-Merlind
    Choke tubes have very fine male thread, and thread into the corresponding female thread inside the muzzle. They are treated with an anti-seize lubricant, then firmly tightened into the bore with a wrench designed for this purpose.

The thread pattern and lengths,. etc look similar, but many are uniquely proprietary and will not interchange.

alucard0822

For great Justice
    Oct 29, 2007
    PA