• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Target

si vis pacem para bellum
    Jul 9, 2008
    Hi I'm new to rifles i have 2 shotguns but am looking to get some rifles soon a .22 an a .308 but i kinda want to get a fun gun to so i was currios to know what is not allowed in this wonderfull state and what is needed to maybe build an ar-15 if i went that route as far as paperwork goes just currious on what is a no-no

Thanks

squirrels

Who cooks for you?
    Jan 25, 2008
    AR15s are still legal in MD. They've tried for 3 years to pass an "AWB" and it got struck down all three times. This most recent year, I don't think they even tried.

HBAR sporters are "cash-and-carry". All other AR15 configurations (including buying a stripped lower and building one yourself) are considered "assault weapons" and you have to go through the same paperwork for them as for handguns. But they're all legit.

The one thing that ISN'T legit is an AR15 pistol. (i.e. an AR15 with a pistol buffer tube or other no-stock configuration) MD classifies it as an "assault pistol". Which is a joke, but if it's the worst joke MD can come up with, I'll deal with it.

Oh, and anything with a barrel shorter than 16" in total has to go through ATF...but that's another story.

Target

si vis pacem para bellum
    Jul 9, 2008
    but what are the rules to what you can not have? what about full auto or burst? sorry bout the noob questions just trying to understand

bean93x

JamBandGalore
    Mar 27, 2008
    WV
    i loved maryland when i lived there, till i moved to WV and learned about gun laws and now, i love making fun of people on the forum because i can go to a shop or internet store and have NO restrictions on buying anything :D