• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Eviljagtech

Infected w/ Freedom
    Jan 24, 2010
    Harpers Ferry, WV
    Hey hey all. Im new to AR's and i think im under-loading my ammo for it. What im loading is Armscor .55 gr FMJBT w/ 25 gr of Varget powder in .223, OWL 2.250. I have never reloaded for a auto loader rifle, thousands of rounds for my 9mm's and .223 for my 700. I think the charge is to low because i noticed the Factory ammo I broke the gun in with would really fly out but the reload would just plop 2-3 feet away. The rifle didn't jam or anything, it just felt weak. If this isn't going to hurt the weapon then I may keep doing it but I also my not be getting the must out of this firearm. Any Idea's would be helpful, oh and one last thing, I have 7 lbs of powder left so i got some shooting to do before i change powders if needed.

Edit: Barrel is a 1:9 twist

pcfixer

Ultimate Member
    May 24, 2009
    Marylandstan
    From Hodgdon website.
    55 GR. SFIRE Hodgdon Varget .224" 2.220"
    min= 23.5 2990 45,200 PSI
    max= 25.1C 3149 51,700 PSI

55 GR. SPR SP Hodgdon Varget .224" 2.200"
    min= 25.5 3174 41,300 CUP
    max= 27.5C 3384 49,700 CUP

From this data your very close to the max in powder. If this is accurate round
    stay with this load.

Eviljagtech

Infected w/ Freedom
    Jan 24, 2010
    Harpers Ferry, WV
    From Hodgdon website.
    55 GR. SFIRE Hodgdon Varget .224" 2.220"
    min= 23.5 2990 45,200 PSI
    max= 25.1C 3149 51,700 PSI

stay with this load.

Thank You sir, I went from the Lyamns book at which this was the lowest powder charge. It did work well at the range so ill keep this load for now till the powder is gone as those bullets are good priced.

damifinowfish

Ultimate Member
    Dec 14, 2009
    Remulak