• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BILGERATED

Feb 20, 2008
    Aberdeen
    Hey all!
    I have a question about the Lee Pro 1000. What do you think of it for 9mm and 357mag? Any help would be great!

J.Brown

Apr 3, 2008
    Hampstead
    I have a load master, very similar in design and function. the load master is a 5 stage. i load 9, 40, 45, 44mag and 223 on it and once you get used to how it operates and where to watch while your running it it works flawlessly. it only acts up when im not paying attetion. ive contmplated the pro 1000 however i like the 5th hole for crimping.

alucard0822

For great Justice
    Oct 29, 2007
    PA
    I load most of my handun calibers on a pair of pro-1000s. They work OK, but the biggest disadvantage is only having 3 holes for dies, so post sizing and crimping have to be done on a separate press. The crimps produced by a seating/crimp die are terrible, and the Lee dies do not upport the case, often times buckling it, especially in long calibers like 357 mag, the case will likely buckle before you get a crimp sufficiently deep, and then it will be uneven. The factory crimp die is wonderful, and all but eliminates any functional problems with your ammo, and especially in 357mag it is critical to crimp lead bullets sufficiently.

If I had to do it over again(and I still might), I would probably get the loadmaster, or if you are looking to shoot a lot(I do), a Hornady L&L AP if I was going to shoot a lot of a variety of calibers or Dillon if I was to shoot a TON of one or two calibers.