• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • endsjustifymeans

Sep 21, 2011
    Overlea/Hamilton
    Hello all,

Just picked up a Horton Yukon SL on saturday for $175. Had two aluminum bolts with it and the attached quiver. Stock peep sight. It's in great shape, barely used and definitely never dry fired.

I realize it's a bit of a beginner bow, but I am a beginner and in the reviews I've read it's highly dependable and people have seemed to successfully hunt with them for years.

Did I do ok at that price? Any advice on on ranges in/around the baltimore city area to take it to? And must have accessories?

possumman

Ultimate Member
    Jan 13, 2011
    Pikesville Md
    You will do fine with that - get some more bolts-either ebay or walmart($5 each)- some 100gr. or 125gr. field points and a bag target to shoot at in your back yard. Once you get it figured out get some broadheads and go hunting.Dont overthink it, and no need to spend $15 a piece on broadheads, it should shoot fine out to 25-30 yards and as long as the bolts match it should group reasonably well. Also get some cheap lip balm for $1 and slick up the string and the arrow track --or spend $10 on crossbow lube. My cheap Horton has taken 4 deer in the last 2 years-4 shots in the woods and 4 deer down.Thats with a peep sight with a single fiber optic pin. I find all bows easier to carry and use without the quiver attached - I use a hip quiver on a belt.

midcountyg

Ultimate Member
    Mar 7, 2009
    Preston, MD
    Congrats and enjoy. I just ordered a Horton Team Realtree Ultralite from my wholesaler. I sold one to a customer, and when I checked it out I fell in love. I just had to have one. Horton seems to have their act together and make some nice stuff.

Kimber45

Jan 14, 2011
    Whiteford