• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Pushrod

Master Blaster
    Aug 8, 2007
    WV High Country
    These are both the 7.62 flavors. Both are titanium and ran pretty close in price. The Thunderbeast is a dedicated suppressor that is now on my long range .308 rifle while the YHM Phantom is a quick detach model that is bouncing around between a variety of rifles from an AR-10 to a Saga. I also purchased a couple of QD 5.56 flash suppressors to mount the can on.

Let me preface this by saying that I'm no expert on suppressors and I didn't use any electronic devices to measure dB levels. This was solely by ear.

Both suppressors were similar in size and weight. The Thunderbeast came with a black finish while the YHM was bare titanium. No big deal to me.

They both attached firmly to the muzzles of the respective rifles and I really liked the QD feature of the YHM that threads nicely onto their proprietary muzzle device (either a brake or a flash hider). The YHM cinches to the spring loaded muzzel device and clicks in place tightly with a few twists of the hand. As I mentioned earlier the TB is a dedicated suppressor and threads directly onto the threaded muzzle.

Shooting the TB on my long range rifle was a pleasure. The sound reduction was enough that I didn't need any ear protection. I was shooting 300 yards and the point of aim changed. It was low on the vertical axis by 2 moa but exact on the horizontal axis. Eight clicks on the scope's adjustment knob and she was back on target and held on the poa great through repeated shots.

The YHM also allowed shooting both tactical 7.62 rifles without hearing protection, but I could tell a slight difference in the sound reduction, with the TB winning the competition. It was not enough to really even mention. Both suppressors sounded like an unsuppressed .22 lr rifle being shot (maybe even a little lower).