• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sje0123

Ultimate Member
    Feb 28, 2007
    Abingdon, MD
    I'm looking to get into hunting this year and would like to start out with muzzle loader. I have been looking around and checking prices. I'm on a budget. I don't want to dump a ton of money into it, but I'm also not going to be "cheap" because I don't want to have spent money on a gun that won't suit my needs for a while.

Does anyone have an opinion on this?

CVA Buckhorn 209 Magnum - $138.99

I know it's cheap, but it seems to have good reviews all over the internet. The only "negative" I have seen is that one person seemed to find it difficult to clean. I've got some guns and some are harder to clean than others so that's not a huge turn off for me.

Keep in mind I am completely green on this. I have zero experience with muzzle loaders.

SOMDSHOOT

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Nov 18, 2009
    Indian Head
    My first question is, you say you have zero experience with a muzzleloader, so, do you understand the accessories required, powder, primers, power measure, bullets, how to measure powder, what bullets to use, scope, capper / decapper, etc. ?

Are you buying a muzzleloader because it is cheap to buy ?

What kind of hunting are you planning on doing with a muzzleloader?

I'm not so sure a muzzleloader is something you want to jump right into if you have no experience hunting, unless you have someone who can teach you or work with you in person about a muzzleloader.