• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • calicojack

American Sporting Rifle
    MDS Supporter
    May 29, 2018
    Cuba on the Chesapeake
    I was at Hanover Armory the other day and am thinking about one of the AR10's they have hanging up on the wall. For those of you that own one or are knowledgeable, what advice do you have?

TheOriginalMexicanBob

Ultimate Member
    Jul 2, 2017
    Sun City West, AZ
    I have an Armalite AR-10 and a Colt LE901SE…their version of a 7.62 MSR. Both are excellent…the Colt is a better rifle…more accurate…less felt recoil…better balance…but not substantially so. It’s also discontinued with spotty parts availability plus more expensive if you can find one.

The Armalite is a fine rifle on its own merits…have been very happy with it. I’ve no experience with other makes. A friend has a Black Rain version of the AR-10 and it’s proven very troublesome for him.

AlBeight

MDS Supporter
    Mar 30, 2017
    Hampstead
    Best advice would be you need to realize that on the AR-10 platform it’s not uncommon for parts to often be non-compatible, unlike the AR-15 platform. Be careful upgrading or replacing parts! Not just different patterns, but totally proprietary stuff (yeah, you hear me Savage MSR-10!).

Boats

Broken Member
    Mar 13, 2012
    Howeird County
    Best advice would be you need to realize that on the AR-10 platform it’s not uncommon for parts to often be non-compatible, unlike the AR-15 platform. Be careful upgrading or replacing parts! Not just different patterns, but totally proprietary stuff (yeah, you hear me Savage MSR-10!).
    This.

Also, they run way over gassed

smdub

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Nov 14, 2012
    MoCo