• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ImperatorZices

Imperator
    Jan 22, 2009
    I have never gone hunting, but I was hoping to do so sometime during the next month or so.

I have no experience, and I have no idea how to start planning for the event. My experience is limited to target shooting, hiking, and rock climbing.

Can anyone offer some advice to a newb wanna-be hunter? It doesn't matter what type of game it is (nutria?), but I would like to know what will be required for a trip including: equipment, planning, procedures, rules, helpful hints.

As an aside, if anyone's willing to take an extra guy on a hunt it would be greatly appreciated...:o

Thanks in advance for the advice!

wilcam47

Ultimate Member
    Apr 4, 2008
    Changed zip code
    id start with the hunting/regulations booklet you can get at walmart or where ever they sell hunting licenses...read that to get an idea of seasons and bag limits etc...and rules

sykesville

Ultimate Member
    I believe you HAVE TO take the hunter safety course to get a license, no? I haven't hunted previously either, but took the course last year. In my opinion, there aren't enough (if any) opportunities for a newby to get into hunting if he or she doesn't have friends that do it.

MikeTF

Ultimate Member
    Although i had a hunter's license several decades ago, I recently took the hunter safety course with my daughter and nephew (and brother, who has been actively hunting for decades). The course takes two days and by the time you're through with it, you have all of the basic safety rules thoroughly drummed into your subconscious. As much as I hate MD forcing requirements on people, the course is worthwhile.

Deerminator

Jul 5, 2010
    Hagerstown