• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • regularfunk

Mar 18, 2008
    MD
    Did a search but couldn't find my answer.

Do I need to get the notary done in MD? I'm a MD resident that is currently in Afghanistan. We have a legal office out here that can do the notary for me; however, the wording on the form makes me think that I need to have this done in MD.

Not a huge deal if I can't do it but I hoped I could do this while I'm out here so my wait would be killed along with my deployment time.

regularfunk

Mar 18, 2008
    MD
    Follow up question:

How many people actually get contacted at the numbers you listed on the application? Since I deployed I put my cell number on "military hold" so I'd imagine no one at the MSP could get through to it (I don't use a home phone) and I definately don't want to use the ex.

Hopefully they would then try to call my work number where someone would let them know I'm deployed.

Should I put another letter in the envelope explaining my situation and that email would be the best way to contact me?

Either way, I'll be going to the legal office when they open today to get the signatures and try my luck.

regularfunk

Mar 18, 2008
    MD
    Thanks holepunch!

Another question, just want to get this right but I suspect I'm looking way too far into this. :o

The notary part of the form has a line that says:

In and for the County of ____________, personally appeared and made oath in due form of Law that the answers provided in this application are full, complete, correct, and true to the best of his/her knowledge, information and belief.

The officer at legal put Kabul, Afghanistan in the blank since that is where we are, would there be any issues with this?

Additionally, after the space where the notary signs there is a part that says: