• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • AliasNeo07

Ultimate Member
    Feb 12, 2009
    MD
    So I'm still new to the class 3 world , and it is still a bit confusing to me.

What I'm looking to do is have an SBR in 5.56 with a can on it.

I'm assuming what I need to do is buy a pistol, form 1 SBR it, then add stock, and do the paperwork for a can.

My questions are, what is the best pistol to get to achieve this? I keep hearing that 10.3" is a no-go, but 11.5" is okay, due to something about MD OAL? Or would it be better to just buy a stripped lower, put it together, and buy a 11.5/10.3" upper and SBR that as opposed to buying a complete pistol? If I want to buy a complete pistol, does DD or BCM offer them in pistol format? Any other brands recommended?

And if I want a dedicated can for this gun, any suggestions? I have a surefire already, but if I'm going to keep the can on this gun, is it better to go direct-thread with something instead of over a muzzle brake?

Thanks everyone.

outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    I prefer to build my guns from the ground up. A 10.3" barrel is fine. You will have to add a little length somewhere to reach 29" OAL, but there are plenty of ways to get there. That said, I would start with a 10.5" barrel and go from there.

Which Surefire can do you have? SOCOM556 is kind of the mil spec norm, but they are heavy(I have one) and there are plenty of alternatives. For SBRs, I definitely prefer a QD brake type mount over direct thread.

sbr.jpg

10.5" Noveske 5.56 barrel
    hrt1.jpg

Colt 11.5" Commando SOCOM barrel

Last edited:

River02

One Ping Only...
    MDS Supporter
    Sep 19, 2015
    Mid-Maryland