• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SmokingGun

Ultimate Member
    Jun 22, 2009
    Absurdistan
    May be a whacky idea, but lately I've considered buying a crossbow for groundhog control. I have zero archery experience.

Has anyone tried it successfully? At what range? Any equipment recommendations?

Thanks in advance!

diesel-man

Ultimate Member
    Apr 8, 2009
    When deer look at your house with you standing at the window, they are only going to "see" the house. (unless it is a sliding door and you are doing jumping jacks)

When a groundhog sees you slip the curtain just a bit to get a location on him...he sees you for sure. After the 3rd .22 miss, he is going to run just because you moved the curtain.

Don't confuse the groundhogs at APG with the ones under your shed. I can only recommend a crossbow for the boldest of groundhogs. If you miss, it gets 2x as hard to sneak around the corner each time.

I'm sure it has something to do with living in town. Don't practice on the groundhogs or you'll never get one.

:party29:

adjusterr

Mar 28, 2011
    Indian Springs, Western MD
    Crossbow for groundhogs "?" Reply to Thread

I have a Tenpoint Titan crossbow that has taken deer out to about 40 yards. A groundhog is a much smaller and more alert target than a deer. You might hit one but I bet you lose a lot of bolts, which are getting expensive, and if you find a miss, the bolt will probably be damaged. If possible, a .223 or something similar would be more effective.

Deep Creek Rock

.._. .._ _._. _._ .._
    It is possible if you can get close to them - but thats not common. Ive taken one with a regular compound bow, while I was deer hunting. It was under an apple tree- I was in my tree stand. He was standing up with an apple in his hands, I aimed for the throat - and the arrow went through his throat. It probably was a 20-25 yard shot.