• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • FFMike

Ultimate Member
    Feb 4, 2010
    Howard County
    I am begining to look into purchasing my first AR in the upcoming year. Since I am new to the AR platform, which do you think is the better operating system and why?

Mike128

Feb 28, 2007
    Gas is the standard. Lots of interchangeable parts from many different companies. Piston systems are proprietary so only one company makes it and it's expensive. Gas is typically more accurate also. Just keep it lubed and you should be ok.

Piston systems are easier to clean. Reliablity...I don't know if your really gaining that much.

Markp

Ultimate Member
    Dec 22, 2008
    I am begining to look into purchasing my first AR in the upcoming year. Since I am new to the AR platform, which do you think is the better operating system and why?

If you want a piston gun, buy a different gun. If you want an AR, just get a direct impingement version. The AR platform is plenty reliable with DI gas (even if it is shitting where it eats.) If you want a piston gun, buy an M1A. ;)

Mark

mikec

Ultimate Member
    Dec 1, 2007
    Off I-83
    If you want a piston gun, buy a different gun. If you want an AR, just get a direct impingement version. The AR platform is plenty reliable with DI gas (even if it is shitting where it eats.) If you want a piston gun, buy an M1A. ;)

Mark

Or an FAL.

But either of those guns are 7.62x51 and ammo costs are more.

I agree with Mark, if you want a piston gun, buy a gun designed with a gas piston in mind.

Kchen986

aka "SWAT" =P
    Oct 12, 2008
    If you're looking for piston, about the only two companies that are doing it right are LWRC and LMT. With respect to the Hk416, I've heard rumors of Hk416s cracking in the receiver where the piston spring meets the receiver.