• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Sirex

Powered by natural gas
    Oct 30, 2010
    Westminster, MD
    I apologize in advance, as I am a newb to ARs. I may be doing a trade with a guy for his built AR. He bought the lower, had to wait a few months to go back after the background check to pick up his lower, then he built it into a HBAR rifle. So, since he had to do the extended background check, like a regulated firearm, but it is now a cash and carry HBAR, do we have to go to a FFL to do a transfer to get it out of his name? Thanks

Sirex

Powered by natural gas
    Oct 30, 2010
    Westminster, MD
    he said he did the lower transfer and it was done like a pistol transfer, and it took him months to call back to come and get it because of the backlog. I am assuming it was around 2013

AJRB

Ultimate Member
    May 8, 2013
    he said he did the lower transfer and it was done like a pistol transfer, and it took him months to call back to come and get it because of the backlog. I am assuming it was around 2013

I wouldn't be selling that lower if I were him. After its sold as an Hbar that's it, it has to stay Hbar(or pistol). He could keep it and build into whatever he wants, regardless of how it was initially built, if it was in fact a pre ban lower.

rgramjet

Ultimate Member
    Jan 25, 2009
    Howard County
    I'd go buy a lower for ~$100 brand new, designated for a pistol build. No HQL necessary.

You can buy two as long as you don't plan on buying another registered weapon for 60 days.

j8064

Garrett Co Hooligan #1
    Feb 23, 2008
    Deep Creek
    This is another of those never-ending "interpretation" issues we all face. And (IMHO) exemplifies lunacy in MD law. For example:
    - If I purchased a non regulated HBAR config AR-15 prior to SB281, it remains a non-regulated rifle -> C&C.