• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SigMatt

Ultimate Member
    Mar 17, 2007
    Shores of the Bay, MD
    I've been waffling on what to say tomorrow. I do best with passion and energy. Here is what I am looking at saying tomorrow:
    ----
    Good afternoon. My name is Matt Pickering. I am a resident of Edgewater, MD. I have taken the day off from my job as a software development manager to speak to you today.

I would like to state my strong opposition to the measure being discussed today. Maryland is my home as is the place I have chosen to make my home in my adopted country having come here as a legal immigrant. I value my rights as I have not had the good fortune to be born here and in turn had to earn them. I am angry and dismayed that this bill will do nothing for public safety and turn me and tens of thousands like me into criminals.

And all for the actions of a criminal monster in another state.

I find it fascinating that firearms are the only product, save for some drugs, where their criminal misuse winds up targeting and restricting those who did nothing wrong in the idiotic hope that curtailing the freedoms of others would lead to less crime.

It is like living a neighborhood where you and your neighbor have children. Your children all go out and buy candy bars. Later, the police arrive at your neighbor's home because their child stole their candy bar from the shopkeeper. As a result, you ground your child in their room and bar them from ever having a candy bar again to teach them a lesson against stealing.

Is this reasonable? Is this common sense?