• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Speedluvn

Dec 23, 2019
    Baltimore County
    I’ve been reloading for about 4 years or so. I reload every caliber that I shoot. I rarely buy loaded ammo. With that said, I just completed a 375 Raptor build on an AR10 platform.

I loaded about 20 rounds and shot them this weekend. I experienced some blown primers and other high pressure signs. I came home and checked my data. I purchased a case length guage from an eBay seller.
    1713135914740.png

My question is the cartridge case in the guage should be flesh, correct? I’m seeking another set of eyes on this issue.

Attachments

• IMG_2110.jpeg
      IMG_2110.jpeg
      276.7 KB · Views: 30

DavidA

The Master of Disaster
    Dec 6, 2013
    Annapolis
    Here you go.

So case gauges are great for basically determining if your shoulder is set properly on your sizing die. I the ultimate reminder instance he did not seat the shoulders back far enough and he had problems getting his rounds into battery. To much shoulder push back and your letting the case expand to much all at once and you risk case head separation. When you’re getting close to that you’ll start seeing a line in the brass about a 1/4” past the case heads. This is not good.

But every barrel has a chamber which may be slightly a couple of thousands different from each other. So this is why many reloaded simply take once fired brass and place s comparator on the shoulder. Then when the set up their full length sizing die so that just bumps the shoulder back a couple of thousands.

Now will say a shoulder bring push back to far cause blown primers. Not really the case as primers blowing can be one of two reasons. Either your primer pockets are loose, your primers are not seating properly, or the case is over pressure.