• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rmocarsky

Apr 20, 2011
    I don't know if anyone knows the answer to this.

Other than the special forces, what kind of knife fighting training does our Army/Marine Corp receive?

Rmocarsky

ohen cepel

Ultimate Member
    Feb 2, 2011
    Where they send me.
    I did about 22yrs in and never did any knife training aside from bayonet drills in basic. Really, it's pretty low on the list of "need to know" things.

I was not infantry though and maybe they get some now, don't know.

I studied it some on my own but even then it was low on my list. Being able to run an M4 very well, M9 if needed, AK or other items I could get my hands on were higher on my list and I really like knives.

Fox123

Ultimate Member
    May 21, 2012
    Rosedale, MD
    Newer MCMAP covers basic knife fighting (basic slash and various stab) however it is pretty rudimentary and not exactly a high priority.

nedsurf

Ultimate Member
    Feb 8, 2013
    Bayonet drills. Which were IIRC parry/thrust practice with battle buddy with sheaths on and running an obstacle course stabbing old humanoid range targets.
    The next course of knife training is when the fresh privates went and bought stupidly large knives from the retired vet. knife table guy in the mini mall next to Anthony's pizza. On the next FTX the fresh privates would attempt to whittle elaborate lean-to hooches while everyone else dug fighting positions and just hung up their ponchos with bungees. Excuse me, I need to go read the duffle blog now to fill my quota of nostalgia. :)

ROBAR35

Living the farm life
    May 20, 2010
    Howard Co.
    We did some unit training with a Ranger platoon and spent about 4 hrs. On it, more defensive than offensive. So not much.