• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jayc0968

Cpl, U.S.M.C. 87-92
    Sep 22, 2009
    Crofton, MD
    Probably not a big deal to some, but I just finished my first ever lower build.
    Took me about 2 hours with no special tools. Much easier than I had first thought.
    My upper will be here Tuesday, I'll post pics and specs when it arrives.

Attachments

• 2014-04-19_15-50-29_199.jpg
      2014-04-19_15-50-29_199.jpg
      81.6 KB · Views: 401

lsw

לא לדרוך עליי
    Sep 2, 2013
    Looks good! Make sure to get your foot in the picture when the upper is attached! :)

Apr 18, 2014
    Looks good just make sure the hammer spring is installed correctly. We were teaching an AR 15 101 class last Tuesday and 3 lowers that guys had built watching Utube had the hammer spring installed incorrectly.

bigdaddycoolfm

Mar 24, 2014
    ok so i am new at this..I have been told over and over that it is illegal to build my own AR for my own personal use.. yet i see folks posting their latest projects over and over again.. FreeState has 80% lowers for sale, Amazon is selling them.. I can buy a complete HBAR, but i really want to have something that i built myself.... so what is the deal? Can i build it or not?

armed ferret

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Sep 23, 2008
    McDoogal's
    You can't machine an 80% lower in md anymore. You also can't get stripped lowers in md anymore. Nor can you put a non-HBAR upper on any md legal gun purchased post 1 october 2013.

If you had a full hbar upper and an 80% paperweight and went to a different state where machining the lower was legal, finished it COMPLETELY into a full hbar rifle outside md, you would not be violating anything currently in MD law.

Whether that is enough to keep you out of trouble remains to be seen.

mazinger

Feb 11, 2013
    Columbia