Legality of German paratrooper gravity knives?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kingfish

Jan 15, 2008
    Are these legal in Maryland? I assume they are but I'm not sure on the whole gravity extension thing and the length of the blade. Are these outlawed in any state?

Bertfish

Throw bread on me
    Mar 13, 2013
    White Marsh, MD
    I recall reading about a Maryland court case in the 1970s in which they were declared "deadly weapons", making them illegal to carry

JohnnyBmore

This is not a"FREE STATE"
    Feb 3, 2011
    I'm no lawyer but I think they're legal to own just not legal to carry or sell.

Yes , that is how I read it as well ..

But I am not 100% sure an would like some clarification myself

It may be legal for sale, just not legal to carry

Maryland Case Law:
    - "'Gravity knife' constituted a dangerous or deadly weapon."
    (1964)

Roneut

Oct 10, 2010
    I actually own one of these.

Regarding legality, like any weapon you most certainly can carry one openly. 4-101 of the criminal code is quite explicit: Only concealed carry is regulated in the state except for handguns (Or carry with intent to unlawfully injure, but somehow I doubt that's what you plan on doing).

For concealed carry, it comes down to weather or not it counts as a "penknife," which by law are exempt from regulation at the state level and thereby legal for 100% concealed carry. Penknife is covered by Mackall v State, 1978: