• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JohnCard

Jan 15, 2013
    I want to shorten the barrel (to 18.5") and the wooden stock of a Mossberg shotgun. I have never done this before and I don't have the tools (unless a standard jigsaw will work).

I am posting to here hoping to find someone who would let me come over and use their tools. If you've done this before, advice and supervision would be welcomed.

Thanks.

rseymorejr

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 28, 2011
    Harford County
    I have shortened a couple of rifle stocks using a band saw. I clamped a piece on angle iron on the saw table as a guide, taped the stock and they turned out great. I don't think you would ever get a decent cut with a jig saw

matt1

Feb 5, 2013
    anne arundel county md
    I used a chop saw with a metal cutting blade for the barrel... used a stone file to smooth it out then blued the tip. Im sure you know someone with a chop saw... and a metal blade is $10. Ive heard of lots of people using band saws or a hacksaw but I cant imagine the cut would be as straight as with a chop saw. I researched this before I cut mine too... everyone seemed to be using a band saw but not sure why... its less common than a chop saw and harder to get a perfect cut.

Also make sure to look up the proper way to measure 18.5 inches of barrel...

rseymorejr

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 28, 2011
    Harford County