• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Slackdaddy

My pronouns: Iva/Bigun
    Jan 1, 2019
    I'll be honest, even though I have been shooting and hunting for 30+ years, I know little about the inner workings of a scope.
    I basically have always bought $50 3-9s for my .22s and $100 Nikon/Bushnell banner 2-7x32s for my slug/muzzle loaders, and an occasional fixed 4x for my Rugers.

Main question:
    Objective lens, why do some scopes have a front objective bell and objective lens larger than the tube.
    And some scopes (such as 1.5-6 etc) have the objective lens the same size as the tube??

I had assumed the larger objective lens helps with low light ?? So should I avoid straight tube scopes for hunting ??

Bountied

Ultimate Member
    Apr 6, 2012
    Pasadena
    1674825249215.png

Slowhand

Pre-Banned
    Dec 13, 2011
    In a van, down by the river.

Uncle Duke

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 2, 2013
    Not Far Enough from the City

E.Shell

Ultimate Member
    Feb 5, 2007
    Mid-Merlind
    ...Objective lens, why do some scopes have a front objective bell and objective lens larger than the tube.
    And some scopes (such as 1.5-6 etc) have the objective lens the same size as the tube??

I had assumed the larger objective lens helps with low light ?? So should I avoid straight tube scopes for hunting ??
    As you assume and KRC states, yes, the size of the objective lens is related to light transmission. No scope 'gathers' light, they all transmit the available light through multiple lenses to your eye

If you divide the diameter of the objective lens by the magnification, you will get the size of the 'exit pupil', the diameter of the shaft of light that is presented to your eye. This is essentially why higher-magnification scopes have large objective lenses