• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jimbobborg

Oddball caliber fan
    Aug 2, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    If all you want to do is take the rifle out once pre-deer season to sight in and sit in a stand for deer, they're perfect. If you want to do anything else, get a 700.

Balzer94

Feb 27, 2011
    The action on the 770 is tight. U have to force the bolt closed. U can get the marlin xl7 for about the same price. I was looking at the 770 but found lots of good alternatives which were about the same price. O to local gun shop, get a feel for the rifle and then u can order it online really cheap

Spitfire22V

Jul 12, 2010
    Frederick
    I have a 770. It's my first bolt-action, though it was a gift, not purchased by me. I wanted a 700, but I got the 770 instead. I'm still a novice shooter, but I have handled a 700 before, and it is definitely smoother than the 770. The 770's bolt is looser and wobbles more when being worked through it's motion. It's improving the more I shoot it though. I don't like the plastic trigger guard and safety switch, but other than that it's very nice. For the price, it is really a decent rifle. If your expectations for it are appropriate, then I think anyone would be happy with it. Again, take my opinion with a grain of salt, since I don't have much experience with other rifles.

Here's mine. Added a Wal-Mart bipod and a nylon round-holder on the stock (not pictured). I have less than 100 rounds of cheap surplus ammo through it.

Attachments

• Rem770 shooting.jpg
      Rem770 shooting.jpg
      65.9 KB · Views: 118
    • IMG_6858.jpg
      IMG_6858.jpg
      75.3 KB · Views: 116

sbmike

Ultimate Member
    Feb 19, 2011
    Almost Heaven, WV