• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Kharstin

Cruffler
    Feb 15, 2012
    Baltimore, Maryland
    If this is a dumb question, I truly do apologize because I am still pretty new to reloading. If you have a bullet and you know the caliber as well as the grain but you don't have any other information, what would the best was to find the proper reloading data? Example: I purchased a box of .30 caliber bullets at the Bel Air Gun Show (at an excellent price) marked 168 GR on the box with no additional information. Normally I cross reference the bullets manufacturer in the corresponding reloading manual with the Grains to determine the proper loading data but this time I do not know who the maker is.

Any information at all is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

steves1911

Ultimate Member
    Dec 2, 2011
    On a hill in Wv
    Grab your favorite reloading book look up starting loads for 168gr bullets for a starting point. From there go up in half grain increments until you see pressure signs and then back off half a grain and you have your max load for that bullet. I will add that if your 168gr bullet is of the lead free variety such as a barnes or nosler e tip reduce your start load by 10% .

Uncle Duke

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 2, 2013
    Not Far Enough from the City
    OP, there's no such thing as a stupid question with this hobby.