• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • miles71

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Jul 19, 2009
    Belcamp, Md.
    So I’m still pretty new to red dots, but after a steel plate match with my new M&P metal competitor it just seemed like a good addition. I just installed a vortex venom, held the pistol up, realized I couldn’t see the dot and front sight since I don’t have those silly tall sights. My heart sunk……. Where’s the front sight………. Sweat on my brow……….. will it all be ok?

It’s gonna take some getting used to, but hopefully be an improvement.

TD

outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    Lol. You got some learnin to do.
    More than likely, your dot was high(you had to tilt your head down slightly to get the dot on your window).
    With dots, the aiming principles are different than with iron sights. You don't try to pick up the dot as you raise the gun. Instead, you focus on the target as you drive the gun up and out and transpose the dot where you want it. Here's where you have to relearn your draw. For some, it takes only a slight adjustment to get used to. Others, it takes longer. You will need to practice dry reps to relearn your aim. You'll need to develop new muscle memory.
    You do not need higher sights. You need to learn to put the dot in the middle (height wise) of the lens/window. Bring the dot to the target and shoot. Don't worry about sight alignment.

outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    A range drill that has helped me greatly is mag changes and dud drills.

Keep it simple at first. Two mags with two rounds in each. Bang-bang, drop the mag, then bang-bang. It will help you aim under slight duress. From there, you can introduce duds into the mix.

Last edited:

Park ranger

Ultimate Member
    Dec 6, 2015