• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Spec4

Expert Rifleman
    Sep 22, 2009
    Carroll County
    wanted to find out what people favor on here for deer hunting in Md woods. I'm leaning toward Realtree, but like MOBU more....

thoughts?

hard_core_emt

Mar 21, 2010
    Oakland, MD
    I used to use MOBU untill i got Realtree Hardwoods HD. I wont buy nothing else . Its amazing how well it blends. I have some bibs that are AP but the hardwoods HD just look so much better, well to me that is... Happy shopping

redoktober

it doesn't really matter...

Anything that breaks up your general human form will work, including the classic red hunter's plaid. We forget that human eyes and deer eyes are different. I've been using surplus flectarn for the past two years and have had deer walk right past me.

Just sit or stand very still.

boss66tcode

a bit of an Eddie Haskle
    Sep 8, 2008
    in 'da hills
    I've used MOBU, as well as good old surplus woodland camo, and for deer, either seems to work. They only have one type of cone in their eyes (humans have 3 allowing us to see colors), which means they only see monochromatic, so I think anything that breaks up your outline is fine.

Just to be on the safe side, I always use my MOBU for turkeys, since they are so sensitive to movement, I feel better having better camo, but I honestly don't know if it would make any difference.

hvymax

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Apr 19, 2010
    Dentsville District 28
    +1 on redoctober. I try to keep things as generic as possible because. What is invisible in the spring will stand out like a sore one in the winter. Otherwise I guess you would'nt want your gun to clash with your shirt. If it looks cool and makes you feel better and enjoy it more pick your favorite.

xd40c

Business Owner-Gun Toter
    Sep 20, 2007
    East Earl, PA