• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • thequietman

- - - - -
    Nov 26, 2011
    Harford County
    Hi,

I noticed that PSA is having a Labor Days sale. I have been planning on getting a complete upper, and have heard some good things about PSA. I'm looking at 16" mid-length gas system. I have a couple of questions on the barrels though. I'm a newbie. This will be my first AR, and there are just so many choices. :o I'm trying to decide between the heavy vs light profile, and whether hammer forged is that much better.

light profile
    hammer forged light profile
    heavy profile

Since this will mostly be for fun (plinking, recreational shooting), I was thinking about the heavy profile. I assume you get some accuracy advantage with a heavier barrel, right? Anyone know how much heavier these are, and whether there are any noticeable advantages? If there isn't a significant difference, I guess lighter might be nice. Additionally, you can get the light profile in a hammer forged barrel, which I understand is generally considered better (its only $20 more). All the barrels are made by FN Manufacturing.

Any thoughts on the tradeoffs?

BradMacc82

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Aug 17, 2011
    Any of the above will do you right, in all honesty.

I've never noticed much of a difference between a heavy/gov't profile barrel - assuming they're the same barrel length and same gas system length.

It's your rifle, your money - and therefore your choice. :)

Jimbob2.0

Ultimate Member
    Feb 20, 2008
    I'd go government or light and hammer forged is good but in practice doesn't add much. Diminishing returns

I like mine not crazy about the straight anodized finish but acceptable

thequietman

- - - - -
    Nov 26, 2011
    Harford County
    What are your goals with this rifle?