• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kwaters4

Aug 14, 2012
    Fallston
    hello Im new to the reloading world. ive heard about people using lead cast bullets for cheap target ammo. i was wondering what the pros and cons using them were.

jimbobborg

Oddball caliber fan
    Aug 2, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    Pros: Cheap

Cons: Can't be used in a stock Glock barrel

I've been using lead in my competition .40, it's actually more accurate with the lead bullets than with jacketed bullets. Plus I can order 1000 of them now, no wait, for $82 shipped.

Winterborn

Moved to Texas
    Aug 19, 2010
    Arlington, TX
    Another pro is you can make your own, with the right molds and some basic equipment to melt lead.

Even buying raw lead to cast, you can make them for half the price or less of online cast bullets.

Deep Creek Rock

.._. .._ _._. _._ .._
    Lead is cheaper, and shoots better in pistols IMHO. The cost is far less if you self cast your own. For shooting steel - cast /lead is safer. Lead bullets usally splatter, or flatten, VS a jacketed that can bounce if it hits a steel target off angle.

The cons - barrel leading. If the cast lead bullet is not sized right, or insufficent lube, or too soft for the velocity its being driven at -can all contribute to barrel leading. There are tools to aid in removing lead from a bore (Lewis Lead Remover, or Copper Chore Boy). But barrel leading is minimal if you do it right.

Lead/Cast is not recommended on guns with polygonal rifling (Glocks the main offender with this)

Expansion control is another con. Copper bullet jackets, determines how the bullet will expand (or not expand) at its target. But if your shooting paper, steel, or general plinking, then the jacket is non issue anyways.

hvymax

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Apr 19, 2010