• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kfrede86

Ultimate Member
    Feb 22, 2010
    St. Marys
    Recently went out to sight in a Nikon p223 3x9 optic today but it didn't want to hold a zero. I'm using it on a 14.5" suppressed AR with 55gr PMC ammo. I was only able to get two shots to group where I was aiming but then it would start giving me errant shots. I'm no expert marksman but I can hit a bullseye at 50yds with a RDS no problem without the results I was getting today. All the bolts are tight on the mount as well. I can't figure out why I would be having this hard of a time sighting in a rifle. Anyone else have a problem like this?

mopar92

Official MDS Court Jester
    May 5, 2011
    Taneytown
    Is the mount solely on one portion of rail? As in railed upper only or railed handguard only? If not and the handguard is not a free floating type it could be flexing when the rifle weight is supported. Also remove the mount and check for gouges in the rails to see if it was truly locked down. It could be an out of spec mount bouncing back and forth in between the rail slots. If available try mounting it on a different rifle. Try different ammo too. Also try shortening the range it was being zeroed. Last let someone else try it. And check for an 1D10T malfunction make sure you understand how to make adjustments on the scope.

kfrede86

Ultimate Member
    Feb 22, 2010
    St. Marys
    Take the suppressor off and try again. Also, try different ammo.

Gonna give that a try tomorrow. Only took one type of ammo with me and it got too dark before I could try w/o the suppressor.