• Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • I am new to reloading and have been doing some reading online. Just investigating the topic, and am in need of some advice.

I have been saving my brass, .38 Special & .357 at this point it is straight from the range, I know it needs to be cleaned and de-primed. I am looking for a hand tool to de-prime the brass, can anyone suggest a product?

In addition I am investigating options for cleaning the brass, I am familiar with tumbling are there any other methods I can use before investing in a tumbler?

At this point I just want to prepare the brass for reloading and will move ahead in the future investing in a press, dies, etc.

Just looking to put my hands to work while I have the idle time.

Thanks in advance!

Winterborn

Moved to Texas
    Aug 19, 2010
    Arlington, TX
    I would go this route:

http://www.amazon.com/Lee-Precision-Cast-Reloading-Press/dp/B000NOQIFO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359736931&sr=8-1&keywords=hand+press+reloader

A Lee Hand press will do it all using standard dies. You could buy a set of dies to resize/deprime:

http://www.amazon.com/Lee-Precision-Special-Carbide-Silver/dp/B000N8LCHE/ref=sr_1_2?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1359737010&sr=1-2&keywords=38+dies

These will handle both 38 and 357 and has everything you need to re-load a case as far as dies go.

A cheaper option, if you ONLY want to deprime:

http://leeprecision.com/decapping-die.html

Using this in the hand-press you can de-prime anything, but it will not re-size the cases.

As far as cleaning goes, a tumbler will probably be the best bet (and cheapest) way to clean you cases. I use this one: