• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • LargemouthAss

Dec 27, 2012
    Hi Guys,
    I recently picked up my new PTR 91 GI and have done some work to it. I installed new front stock, butt stock, heavy recoil buffer, and bipod. I am going to pick up the MFI low profile mount as soon as it comes back in stock at hkparts.net: http://www.hkparts.net/shop/pc/Scope-Mount-For-HK91-G3-PTR-91-MFI-Low-Profile-118p2805.htm and I need a scope for this gun. I will be shooting anywhere from 100 yards at the indoor NRA range to 250-300 yards at my parents farm. What scope would be recommended for this gun? I know this is not a sub moa gun so I feel silly throwing an $1,000 scope on it but I only want to buy a scope once so I would rather not buy several cheap ones if a high end one will last.

I am a newb when it comes to optics so sorry if this is a dumb question: I have a few AR builds I am working on (an SBR and a 16" target gun) and I would like to have one high-end scope I could use on several guns. Is this doable or would the PTR scope be too much for an AR or vice versa? Would I drive myself insane trying to zero the scope in after putting it on a different gun?

LargemouthAss

Dec 27, 2012
    Before:
    7cfbaed4-7adf-40a8-bee9-7b4428538ef1_zps102833ef.jpg

After:
    80cf5958-337f-4319-8dfd-92cf3729a729_zps995680d9.jpg

photobucket-48488-1361553625054_zps5a3efb08.jpg

ohen cepel

Ultimate Member
    Feb 2, 2011
    Where they send me.
    The Hk issue scope using a claw mount that is what I would go with, they used to be a super bargain but have gone up some as they dried up. Still a good deal on a quality optic and you don't have to spend more money for the mount.

Like this one:
    http://www.hkparts.net/shop/pc/Hens...Factory-Claw-Mount-Used-Exc-Shape-118p878.htm